APC Senators Dump Party, Join PDP, NNPP

Three Senators under the platform of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC), have resigned their membership from the party and defected to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

While Senators Ahmad Babba Kaita (Katsina North) and Senator Francis Alimikhena (Edo North) defected to the PDP, Senator Lawal Yahaya Gumau (Bauchi South)  defected to the NNPP.

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan read three different letters announcing their resignations and defections during plenary on Tuesday.

Babba Kaita’s letter reads, “As Senator representing Katsina North Senatorial District, I write to formally notify you of my resignation from the All Progressives Congress (APC), and registration declaration for the Peoples Democratic Party.

“My resignation from the APC was born out of the marginalisation of critical stakeholders by the State Government and Leadership of the Party in Katsina State, where small people like me do not have a chance.

“I have since been joyfully and graciously accepted into the fold of the Peoples Democratic Party in Katsina State.”


Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker