05 Jul 2022, 1:19 AM (GMT)

COVID-19 Global Stats

555,363,613 Total Cases
6,362,737 Death Cases
530,132,849 Recovered Cases

APC’s Oyebanji Wins Ekiti Governorship Election 


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), as declared the  governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ekiti State, Mr. Biodun Oyebanji, has been declared the winner of Saturday’s governorship poll after sweeping 15 out of the 16 local government areas (LGAs) in the state.

The governorship election, which was held under a calm and peaceful atmosphere, also recorded a large turnout of voters.

The poll was however characterised by vote-buying in all the 16 LGAs in the state, leading to the intervention of the operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), who arrested some vote-buyers.

According to the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Oyebanji scored 187,057 votes to defeat his main challenger and governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Mr. Segun Oni, who came a distant second with 82,211 votes, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Bisi Kolawole garnered 67,457 votes to clinch the third position.

However, while the APC and PDP won in 15 and one local government area, respectively, the SDP did not win any LGA.

Arise TV

Nadula Tax Return Season Sale under $200 wigs, beginner friendly & quick install

Lagos Post Online

Publisher, Lagos Post Online, Lagos Post is an online publication that seeks to provide fair, unbiased, credible, balanced and useful information about Corporate Organisations, Governments and the General Public by breaking news in Business, Politics, Arts, Entertainment, Culture, and Sports in Nigeria, Africa and the World. As a global news portal, we continually stand for responsible journalism and sound media practice. Mobile: +238025837037 Email: lagospostng@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button