CJN To Swear In 12 Judges To High Court On Wednesday

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, will swear in 12 judges into the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory on Wednesday, 10th of July, 2024.

According to Channels Television on Sunday, the information was contained in a statement by the Director of Press and Information of the Supreme Court, Dr. Festus Akande.

The ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Main Courtroom of the apex court by 10am.

Among the 12 judges to be sworn in is the CJN’s daughter-in-law, Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria.

Below is the list of all 12 judges:

  1. Ariwoola Oluwakemi Victoria (Oyo State)
  2. Ademuyiwa Olakunle Oyeyipo (Kwara State)
  3. Bamodu Odunayo Olutomi (Lagos State)
  4. Iheabunike Anumaenwe Godwin (Imo State)
  5. Odo Celestine Obinna (Enugu State)
  6. Hauwa Lawal Gummi (Zamfara State)
  7. Sarah Benjamin Inesu Avoh (Bayelsa State)
  8. Maryam Iye Yusuf (Kogi State)
  9. Buetnaan Mandy Bassi (Plateau State)
  10. Lesley Nkesi Belema Wike (Rivers State)
  11. Ibrahim Tanko Munirat (Bauchi State)
  12. Abdulrahman Usman (Taraba State)

On 17th of May, 2024, the National Judicial Council recommended a total of 86 judicial officers for appointment into federal and state courts across the country.

The recommendations were made by the council’s Interview Committee on Appointment of Judicial Officers of all Superior Courts of Record in Nigeria, during the NJC’s 105th plenary meeting held between 15th and 16th of May, 2024.

This was revealed in a statement issued by the council’s Director of Information, Soji Oye.


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker