CJN To Swear-In New 9 Court Of Appeal Justices

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Olukayode Ariwoola will swear-in office newly appointed nine Justices of the Court of Appeal this week.

The event is scheduled to be done on Wednesday, 20th of October, 2023, at the main court auditorium of the Supreme Court.

A statement by the Director of Press and Information of the court, Dr. Akande Festus, on Sunday, revealed names of the justices.

According to the statement, the justices are:

Hannatu Laja-Balogun from Kaduna State, who was appointed a High Court Judge on May 24, 1999.

Binta Zubairu from Kaduna State appointed a High Court Judge on October 31, 2001.

Peter Chudi Obiora from Anambra State, who was sworn-in as High Court Judge on January 17, 2005.

Justices Okon Efreti Abang from Akwa Ibom State, who was appointed a High Court Judge on 22nd June 2009.

Asma’u Mainoma from Federal Capital Territory appointed High Court Judge on February 1_ 2013.

Lateef A Ganiyu from Oyo State, who became High Court Judge on June 26, 2014.

Jane Iyang from Cross River State, who was sworn-in as High Court Judge on February 12, 2015.

Hadiza Rabiu Shagari from Sokoto State, who got elevation to the High Court Bench on 12th February 2015.

Paul Ahmed Bassi from Borno State, appointed to the High Court on 14th July 2017, respectively, “the statement added.

Akande also said Justice Amina Augie would retire from the apex court after attaining the age of 70 years on September 21.

He said, “Justice Amina Augie will formally retire from the Supreme Court Bench on Thursday, September 21, 2023, after attaining the mandatory retirement age of 70 years on Sunday, 3rd September, 2023.

“The valedictory court session in her honour was delayed because of the annual vacation of the Court which just ended on Friday, 15th September 2023.”

Justice Amina Augie was sworn in as Justice of the Supreme Court on November 7, 2016.

She graduated with a Second Class Upper Division in Law from the University of Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University) in 1977 and was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1978. ”


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker