22 May 2022, 4:34 AM (GMT)

COVID-19 Global Stats

527,269,092 Total Cases
6,299,913 Death Cases
497,219,456 Recovered Cases

Ex-ADC Guber Aspirant, PDP Reps Member, Makinde’s Adviser, Others Join APC In Oyo 

A former gubernatorial aspirant on the platform of Action Democratic Congress (ADC) Engineer Remi Oseni, a serving People’s Democratic Party (PDP) member of House of Representatives, Hon. Ajibola Muraina, former Special Adviser to Governor Seyi Makinde on local government and Chieftaincy matter, Asiwaju Yemi Aderibigbe and other political gladiators have led over 35,000 ADC, PDP and Accord members to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Oyo state. 

They announced their defection to APC during a programme organised by the Oyo state chapter of APC to welcome new members on Saturday. 

The programme which was held at the APC state secretariat in Ibadan was witnessed by the state Chairman of the party, Mr. Isaac Omodewu, Chairman Senate Committee on Local Content,  Oloye Teslim Folarin, APC Oyo South Senatorial Chairman, Alhaji Mojeed Olaoya, Barrister Lowo Obisesan, Hon. Adigun Abiodun and other chieftains of the party. 

Leaders of the defectors includes Engr. Remi Oseni, 2019 ADC gubernatorial aspirant ; Hon. (Dr.) Ajibola Saubana Muraina three-term serving member House of Representatives; Asiwaju (Barr.) Yemi Aderibigbe, former Executive Chairman, Akinyele LGA and former Special Adviser to Governors Seyi Makinde and Abiola Ajimobi; Hon. Ademola Omotoso former Executive Chairman of Ibadan North LGA; Hon. Segun Okedeji, Fmr Chairman ibarapa north west LCDA; Hon Akeem Okedina, former Chairman of Ido LGA; Chief Michael Adegbite, former state chairman PDP and former executive chairman of Kajola LGA; 

Others are Hon. Wasiu Emiola, former State Secretary Oyo PDP and former member Oyo SUBEB; Hon. Soji Olaojo, former educational secretary and former state chairman of NNPP; Sir Adigun Olawuwo, former Oyo senatorial chairman of PDP; Hon. Hussein Akinlabi, 2019 ADC House of Rep candidate for Ibarapa Central/North; Alhaji Surakat Busari, former leader of PDP in Akinyele LGA and Hon Femi Ajayi Oye, former leader of PDP in Lagelu LGA.

Other parties’ top notched includes Chief Olawuwo Adigun, former vice-chairman (South) PDP Oyo State; Hon. Sabitu Moliki, former state Ex Officio of PDP; Asiwaju Adekola Adeoye, former State Youth Leader of both PDP and ADC; Hon. Gbenga Coker, former State Organising Secretary of Accord Party; Hon. Lukman Adeoye, former Secretary of PDP in Ibarapa East LGA and former State Youth Leader of ADC; Hon, Bola Akinyemi, former State administrative secretary Accord Party and former member of Governing Council, The Polytechnic Ibadan; Hon Suleiman Awujoola, former National Southwest Chairman, Atiku Abubakar organization; and Mrs Hannah Olufunke Babarinde, former federal Constituency Women Leader of PDP Ibarapa North/Central.

Other defected PDP leaders from Ibarapa Central LGA where Rt. Hon. Muraina comes from included Alhaji Abiola Azeez, PDP Chairman for Ibarapa Central; Mrs Toyin Afolabi, Women Leader PDP Ibarapa Central; and Hon. Lukmon Uthmon, former PDP state assistant secretary. Other former PDP leaders from the council area that ported to APC are Alhaji Rasaq Olatunde Garai, Chief Segun Adeleye, Chief Isiaka Oladoja, Hon. Olakunle Sunmonu, Mrs Nike Adegoke, Mr. Bayo Okedokun, Alhaji Najeem Afolabi, Mr. Akanni Oyadiran, Mr. Alani Oguntade, Mrs Funmilayo Olabiyi, Pastor Gbadebo, and among others.

While speaking at the programme, the three term serving lawmaker, Muraina said that he has joined APC ahead of the 2023 general elections. 

He said he and other former members of PDP joined the APC in order to complement the effort of old members. 

He explained that he and all his supporters from his constituency have joined APC. 

According to him, “We are here to complement the efforts of old members. The people of Oyo state want development. Let allow God to determine things. Let us work for the glory of Oyo state”.

Also speaking with journalists, the Chairman Senate Committee on Local Content, Folarin said many more people are still coming to join APC from ruling PDP in the state.

He noted that with the array of bigwigs that joined the party from the PDP, ADC and Accord, it is a clear manifestation for the APC to be victorious in 2023 general elections in the state.

While debunking factions among the APC in the state, Folarin said the party is waxing stronger day by day.

Raji Adebayo, Ibadan

Editor, South-West, Lagos Post Online Email: raji_adebayong@yahoo.com M: 08034094059

Related Articles

Back to top button