Lagos Post Online - News across Nigeria, Politics News in Nigeria, Art & Entertainment News, Business News, Newspaper in Nigeria, Banking, Economy & Money News, Property News, Tech News, Health News

Haaland Wins PFA Player Of The Year Award

Norway and Manchester City’s striker, Erling Haaland has won the Player of the year at the 2023 Professional Footballer’s Association (PFA) award.

He had an excellent season with a lot of unarguable achievements and was exceptional during 2022/23 season.

PFA Player of the year wasn’t his only reward this year, as he also won Premier League Player of the Year and EPL Golden Boot.

The Norwegian giant has continued to present himself as one of the favourites for the 2023 Ballon d’Or after an exceptional year with Manchester City, which saw him score 52 goals in 53 appearances for Manchester City.

Haaland’s goals propelled the Cityzens to a remarkable treble after claiming the Premier League, UEFA Champions League, and FA Cup titles last season, with the 23-year-old topping the scorers’ charts in two of the three competitions.

The Manchester City star becomes the first Norwegian to win the prestigious award in its 50-year history.

Haaland missed out on the PFA Young Player of the Year award to Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, despite being eligible, but will be glad to claim the evening’s main prize nonetheless.

After sweeping most of the domestic awards in England, Haaland’s next aim will be to claim European honours in the Ballon d’Or and UEFA Player of the Yea awards.

He stands against some of the best and biggest names in world football for these accolades, but will be confident of going toe-to-toe with them after bagging yet another individual award.


Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker