JUST IN: Senate Commences Screening Of INEC RECs

The Senate has commenced the screening of the newly nominated Resident Electoral Commission (RECs) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The newly appointed RECs are; Etekamba Umoren (Akwa Ibom), Isah Shaka Ehimeakne (Edo), Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti), Abubakar Ahmed Ma’aji (Gombe), Shehu Wahab (Kwara), Prof. Mohammed Yelwa (Niger).

Others are Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), Isma’ila Kaura Moyi (Zamfara), Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos), and Aminu Kasimu Idris (Nasarawa).

President Bola Tinubu had written to the Senate seeking that it screen and confirm 10 new Resident Electoral Commissioners for a term of five years.

The President’s request was contained in a letter read by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio at plenary on Tuesday.

The RECs were appointed last week to serve in the Independent National Electoral Commission.


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker