Nigeria Announces Dates To Roll Out Digital Switchover In Lagos, Kano, Others

Nigeria Announces Dates To Roll Out Digital Switchover In Lagos, Kano, Others

The Federal Government on Saturday announced the dates to roll out the long awaited switchover from analogue to digital in Lagos, Kano, and three other states.

While the Digital Switchover (DSO) would commence in the five states between April and August, the exercise would kick off in the remaining states thereafter.

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed made this known when he led members of the Ministerial Task Force on DSO on an advocacy visit to Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, on Saturday.

ALSO READ: Tears As Prince Philip Laid To Rest 

He noted that the government had launched the switchover in Jos, the Plateau State capital on April 30, 2016, as well as four more states – Kwara, Kaduna, Enugu and Osun – and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

“We are now moving rapidly to cover the remaining 31 states. We are kick-starting the new rollout here in Lagos State on April 29, 2021.

“Kano State follows on June 3, 2021, Rivers State on July 8, 2021, Yobe State on July 15, 2021, and Gombe State on August 12, 2021, with more states slated thereafter,” the minister told the governor.

He explained that the decision to transition from analogue to digital television followed a treaty agreement signed on June 16, 2016, at the Regional Radiocommunication Conference (RRC-06) in Geneva, Switzerland, to usher in ‘all-digital’ terrestrial broadcast services for sound and television by a target date of June 17, 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *