Nigerian Sports Awards Celebrates Gov Fashola, Enyeama And Others

L-R. Sports Legends, Dr. Awoture Elayea, Dr George Ogan and Pa KAB Olowu and Modupe Oshikoya during the presentation of the Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 2014 Nigerian Sports Award held in Lagos on Thursday

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, Super Eagles Goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama, Africa’s fastest woman and Commonwealth gold medalist Blessing Okagbare, Super Falcon striker and Most Valuable Player (MVP) at the just concluded African women Championship (AWC) Asisat Oshoala and Nigeria Table Tennis sensation, Aruna Quadri were among the winners at the 2014 edition of the Nigerians Sports Awards which was held on Thursday.

The event which was held at the Muson Centre, Onikan,Lagos was well attended by dignitaries from the Nigerian sports circle made up of ex- internationals, sports administrators, the media as well as personalities drawn from the corporate world.

Vincent Enyeama and Blessing Okagbare won two awards on the night. Vincent Enyeama won the Footballer of the Year and Sportsman of the Year awards while Okagbare carted home the Track and Field Star of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year categories.

In his opening remarks, the Chairman of the award panel, Mr. Ikeddy Isiguzo described the third edition of the award as a significant milestone not only for the organizers of the award but for the country as a whole in commemoration of the centenary celebration of the nation.

Three prominent Nigerian Sports Legends were honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. They are Pa KAB Olowu, who won 2 silver medals at the 1954 commonwealth games, Dr. George Ogan who won Silver medal at the 1966 Commonwealth games and Dr. Awoture Elaye who was the coach of the Nigerian team to the 1990 Commonwealth games. This category of the award was presented by another veteran, Modupe Oshikoya who was honoured with the same award at the maiden edition.

Other winners at the 2014 award includes Asisat Oshoala who won the Footballer of the Year (Women) category, the Ball sports personality of the year was won by Portugal based Aruna Quadri who also won the category in 2013 while Falconets star, Courtney Dike emerged asthe Discovery of the Year 2014.

In the School Sports category, St. Barnabas Primary School, Ilorin emerged winner for winning the West African Football Union (WAFU) under-13 Football competition thereby displacing Greensprings School, Lagos who won the category back to back in the last two editions.

The Falconets emerged the Team of the Year while their Coach, Peter Dedevbo who is also a nominee of the FIFA Women Football Coach of the Year emerged the Coach of the Year.

In the Combat sports personality of the year category, Odunayo Adekuroye emerged the winner, Efe Ajagba won the Boxer of the Year, Loveline Obiji won the Special Sports Person of the Year, Maryam Usman won the Weightlifter of the Year,

Mr. Wahid Enitan Oshodi, the Lagos Sate Commissioner for Youth Sports and Social Development who is also the President of the Nigerian Table Tennis Federation (NTTF) emerged the winner of the Sports Administrator of the Year.

In the Sports Journalist category,Tana Aiyeina of Punch Newspaper emerged the Journalist of the Year (Print), Ayodele Ojo of the Sun Newspaper emerged the Sports Photo Journalist of the Year, Godwin Enakheana of Top Radio won the Sports Journalist of the Year (Radio) while Miyen Akiri of Galaxy Television won the Sports Journalist of the year (Television).


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker