Ondo 2020: Governor Rotimi Akeredolu Reelected | Lagos Post Online

Ondo 2020: Governor Rotimi Akeredolu Reelected

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday  announced the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and incumbent Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, the winner of Ondo State governorship election.

Akeredolu was returned elected after polling the highest number of votes in the keenly-contested poll conducted on Saturday, 10th October 2020. 

He won in 15 of the 18 local governments councils of the State.

In the election contested by 17 political parties, INEC Returning Officer, Prof Abel Idowu Olayinka declared that the APC candidate, Rotimi Akeredolu secured 292,830 of the total votes, 97,039 more votes than his closest rival Eyitola Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP), who got 195,791 votes.

The Candidate of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and deputy governor of the State, Agboola Ajayi secured a total vote of 69,127. 15 local government areas won by the APC were Ile Oluji/Oke-Igbo, Irele, Akoko North-East, Akoko South-West, Akoko North-West, Ondo East, Owo, Idanre and Akoko South-East, Ose, Odigbo, Okitipupa, and Ondo West, Ilaje and Ese Odo.

The PDP won in Akure South, Akure North and Ifedore local government areas, while the ZLP did not win in any local government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *