Oyo Lawmakers Approves Tenure Elongation For Council Chairmen


The much agitation for local government election in Oyo State got a set back as the Oyo State House of Assembly has extended the tenure of caretaker chairmen committee for another four months tenure in the 33 local governments (LG) and the 35 local council development authorities (LCDA) in the state.

The approval followed a formal request by the state governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi which was sent to the lawmakers.

The tenure of the said Caretaker Chairmen expired Tuesday.

The lawmakers also granted approval to the appointment of eleven caretakers chairmen out of the old 33 chairmen for LGs and LCDAs affected by a lawsuit stopping the appointment of council bosses on the ground that some of the territories were wrongly transferred to different council areas in the creating of the LCDAs.

The case was instituted by some Baales in Oyo town.

It would be recalled that the federal high court sitting in Abuja recently vacated the order in respect of the conduct of the local government election in Oyo State.

The two letters written by the executive and read during Tuesday plenary by the Speaker, Hon. Michael Adesina Adeyemo, were asking for the renewal of the tenure of the caretaker chairmen and appointment of new Caretaker chairmen for the eleven local government and local council development areas that are yet to have caretaker chairmen for the past four months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *