27 Nov 2022, 4:19 AM (GMT)

COVID-19 Global Stats

646,065,431 Total Cases
6,636,120 Death Cases
624,572,707 Recovered Cases

PDP G5 Governors Meet With South West Leaders, Insist On ‘Ayu Must Go’

Five Governors, G5, of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, and some aggrieved party leaders have reiterated calls for the resignation of the party’s National Chairman, Dr. Iyorchia Ayu, before peace could return to the party.

The G5 Governors made their position known after a closed-door strategic meeting on Sunday in Lagos State.

The meeting was hosted by its former Deputy National Chairman, Chief Olabode George.

The G5 Governors, led by Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, declared that their “Integrity Group” still stands on the position earlier taken in Port-Harcourt on the removal of Ayu.

The group, which had been at loggerheads with the leadership of the main opposition party and its presidential candidate, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, however, reiterated that the window for reconciliation in the party remained open.

It was reported that the G5 Governors: Samuel Ortom of Benue State, Seyi Makinde of Oyo State, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State, Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia and Nyesom Wike of Rivers State, began the call for the sack of Ayu shortly after the party’s presidential ticket was won by a northerner, Abubakar.

While addressing reporters after the closed-door meeting, former Governor Jonah Jang of Plateau State said the group arrived at the decision after a careful review of developments in the party.

Jang said: “After a careful review of developments in our party, we have decided to stand on the decisions we took in our Port-Harcourt meeting.

“And we hereby reiterate that the window for reconciliation in our great party, PDP, remains open.”

It was gathered that other PDP leaders at the meeting were former governors Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo State), Ayo Fayose (Ekiti), Donald Duke (Cross River) and Jonah Jang (Plateau).

Also present were former Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Bello Adoke; Deputy National Chairman, South, of the PDP, Taofeek Arapaja; Senator Nasif Suleiman; Nnena Ukeje; Senator Sandy Onor; Senator Mao Ohabunwa; and Chief Dan Orbih among others.

 The aggrieved PDP leaders had maintained that Ayu must resign for the sake of fairness and justice so as to bring peace to the party.

The aggrieved group said there was need for the South to produce the PDP national chairman because the party’s presidential flag-bearer for the 2023 election is from the North.

The Eagle Online 

Nadula Tax Return Season Sale under $200 wigs, beginner friendly & quick install


Lagos Post Online

Publisher, Lagos Post Online, Lagos Post is an online publication that seeks to provide fair, unbiased, credible, balanced and useful information about Corporate Organisations, Governments and the General Public by breaking news in Business, Politics, Arts, Entertainment, Culture, and Sports in Nigeria, Africa and the World. As a global news portal, we continually stand for responsible journalism and sound media practice. Mobile: +238025837037 Email: lagospostng@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker