Senate Screens, Confirms Three Additional RECs For INEC

The Senate, had on Thursday, screened and confirmed three additional Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The three RECs are Dr Bunmi Omoseyincemi (Lagos), Dr Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers) and Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara).

Recall that the Red Chamber had on Wednesday confirmed seven RECs.

The seven confirmed on Wednesday are Etekamba Umoren (Akwa Ibom) Isah Shaka Ehimeakne (Edo) Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti) Abubakar Ahmed Ma’aji (Gombe) Shehu Wahab (Kwara) Prof. Mohammed Yelwa (Niger), Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), Isma’ila Kaura Moyi (Zamfara), Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos) and Aminu Kasimu Idris (Nasarawa).

President Bola Tinubu had on Tuesday forwarded the names of 10 RECs to the Senate for confirmation.

A mild drama ensued on Thursday during the screening of the three remaining appointees.

The drama started when the President of the Senate, Godswilll Akpabio, who vouched for the good character of the nominees, revealed that someone slipped a note to him referring to Omoseyidemi as “Babalawo”, a local parlance meaning herbalist in Nigeria.

In response, Omoseyindemi noted he studied traditional medicine at the University of Ibadan.

He also stated that he attended the College of Nursing, University of Lagos established a medical facility in the state.


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker