28 Sep 2022, 12:31 PM (GMT)

COVID-19 Global Stats

621,344,225 Total Cases
6,543,220 Death Cases
601,551,759 Recovered Cases

Speaker House of Reps Gbajabiamila, Obasa Win APC Primaries


The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, on Friday, won the All Progressive Congress (APC) ticket for the sixth term, unopposed, to represent Surulere Constituency I.

The election, which started with accreditation of delegates at 3pm, had 30 ad-hoc delegates drawn from nine wards in the constituency who were accredited and voted.

A representative of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Ganiyu Adeyinka, who supervised the election, declared Gbajabiamila the winner of the exercise.

The Speaker polled all the 30 votes as the sole contestant for the ticket.

Gbajabiamila has been in the House of Representatives since 2003. He was the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives in the Seventh National Assembly.

He was elected the Speaker in the ninth National Assembly with 283 of 361 votes.

In a related development, the Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, has been declared winner of the APC primary election for Agege Constituency 1 of the State House of Assembly.

Dr Obasa recorded 25 votes to emerge the winner of the primary election which had only him as the contestant.

With the victory, Obasa will be serving his sixth term as a lawmaker representing Agege Constituency 1.

Nadula Tax Return Season Sale under $200 wigs, beginner friendly & quick install

Lagos Post Online

Publisher, Lagos Post Online, Lagos Post is an online publication that seeks to provide fair, unbiased, credible, balanced and useful information about Corporate Organisations, Governments and the General Public by breaking news in Business, Politics, Arts, Entertainment, Culture, and Sports in Nigeria, Africa and the World. As a global news portal, we continually stand for responsible journalism and sound media practice. Mobile: +238025837037 Email: lagospostng@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button