26 Sep 2022, 4:37 AM (GMT)

COVID-19 Global Stats

620,405,933 Total Cases
6,540,798 Death Cases
600,621,637 Recovered Cases
Tech

WhatsApp Introduces New Privacy Features To Protect Users 

Advertisements

American tech giant and world ‘s leading Social Media messaging app, WhatsApp has introduced four new features to protect users.

New privacy features on WhatsApp: exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages. We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations, founder, Meta, Mark Zuckerberg said in a post on Facebook.

According to Meta, the new features translate to more privacy, more protection and more control by users.

“We believe messaging and calling should always be as private and secure as having face-to-face conversations. Kind of like if two people were talking and no one else was around.

Here are the new four features:

1) Online Presence

“Online Presence” this feature will allow users to decide who can see when they are online or offline.

2) Built-in Screenshot Blocking

The “Built-in Screenshot Blocking” feature will enable users to stop anyone from taking a screenshot of files sent using the “View Once Photos and Videos” tab.

“View Once is already an incredibly popular way to share photos or media that don’t need to have a permanent digital record. Now we’re enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection. We’re testing this feature now and are excited to roll it out to users soon.”

“To spread the word about these new layers of protection, we’re also kicking off a campaign to educate people about the new features and our continued commitment to protecting your private conversations on WhatsApp. We hope people enjoy getting to use these new features and benefit from several options that help you keep your messages secure. We look forward to your feedback on what to build next.”

3) Subtle Exit

The “Subtle Exit” feature will let users leave groups silently without other members of the group knowing only the group admins will be notified when a user leaves.

“We love our group chats but some are not forever. We’re making it possible to exit a group privately without making it a big deal to everyone. Now, instead of notifying the full group when you are leaving, only the admins will be notified. This feature will start to roll out to all users this month.”

4) Deleting Mode

With this new feature called “Deleting Mode”, it will take users 48hours, that’s 2-days, before they can delete a message or messages they mistakenly send.

Nadula Tax Return Season Sale under $200 wigs, beginner friendly & quick install
Advertisements

Lagos Post Online

Publisher, Lagos Post Online, Lagos Post is an online publication that seeks to provide fair, unbiased, credible, balanced and useful information about Corporate Organisations, Governments and the General Public by breaking news in Business, Politics, Arts, Entertainment, Culture, and Sports in Nigeria, Africa and the World. As a global news portal, we continually stand for responsible journalism and sound media practice. Mobile: +238025837037 Email: lagospostng@gmail.com

Related Articles

Back to top button