Court Convicts 27 Internet Fraudsters In Oyo, Ogun

The Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, has secured the conviction and sentencing of twenty-seven cybercriminals to various terms ranging from one to eighteen months community service, one year imprisonment and fine in Ogun and Oyo States respectively.

The convicts were prosecuted before Justices Bayo Taiwo, Omolara Adeyemi, Ladiran Akintola and Mohammed Owolabi of the Oyo State High Court, Ibadan and Justice Mosunmola Dipeolu of the Ogun State High Court, Abeokuta.

The convicts are Abdullahi Ayomide Obigbesan, Olaoye Segun Fashola, Olasantan Precious Ayomide, Adeleke Ayomide Olamilekan, Sidiku Ismail Olubudun, Wasiu Adewale Onabanjo, Akande Adeniran Babatunde, Bello Mustapha Abidemi, Damilare Adewale Balogun, Azeez Omogbolahan Nofiu, Balogun Azeez Damilola, Olawale Sodiq Olayiwola, Ibrahim Nasirudeen Abiola and Ibrahim Sulaiman Olanrewaju.

Others are: Olasunkanmi Sanni Adeyemi, Diyaolu Olamide Samuel, Ojo Segun Michael, Fasasi Olanrewaju Elias, Olusoji Bankole Kelly, Abdullahi Kehinde Tawab, Hammed Dauda Akanji, Samson Oyebode Ayilara, Sanni Taiwo Ayomide, Ogunbanjo Owolabi Ayodele, Ademola Olamilekan Salami, Fatai Usman Ayomide and Wasiu Muyideen Omotayo.

They were all prosecuted on one count charge each which bordered on impersonation and obtaining property by false pretence.

Upon their arraignment, they all pleaded “guilty” to the charges filed against them by the Commission.

Afterwards, facts of the cases were reviewed as the courts were urged to convict and sentence the defendants as charged.

Consequently, Fasasi and Olubudun were convicted and sentenced to one year imprisonment each, Ibrahim Sulaiman to nine months imprisonment, Balogun Azeez to three months imprisonment, Onabanjo, Akande, Bello and Nofiu to six months jail term each.

Also, Ayilara and Omotayo were convicted and sentenced to eighteen months community service each while Sanni and Ogunbanjo bagged one year community service each.

Furthermore, Akanji, Adeyemi, Diyaolu, Ojo Segun, Kelly, Olayiwola, Abiola, Salami, Fatai and Fashola were convicted and sentenced to six months community service each; Olasantan, Adeleke and Balogun to three months community service each, while Tawab bagged one month community service. Obigbesan was ordered to pay the sum of N150, 000. 00k (One Hundred and Fifty Thousand Naira)  fine.

Also, the convicts were ordered to restitute their various victims and forfeit items recovered from them, including the sum of N16.3million domiciled in the Guaranty Trust bank and Ecobank accounts of Fasasi Olanrewaju Elias, to the Federal Government of Nigeria.


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker