Five Dramatic Premier League Title Race In History

The 2023–24 English Premier League (EPL) title race looks set to be an all-time classic, with only one point separating three teams (Arsenal, Liverpool, and Manchester City) with 10 games to play.

Below are some exceptional EPL title race drama from previous years:

1. 1997-98

Before Arsene Wenger disrupted Alex Ferguson’s dominance, Manchester United had won every Premier League title but one.

At Christmas, the Red Devils appeared to be headed for their sixth title in six years, but Arsenal suddenly found their groove and went on an 18-game winning streak.

Arsenal’s Marc Overmars’ goal in a 1-0 victory at Old Trafford in March was crucial in securing the North London team’s first-ever Premier League title by a mere one point.

2. 2011-12

In the race that undoubtedly provided the most exciting finish, City’s attempt to unseat ferocious rivals United in 2011–12 had it all.

For the majority of the season, Ferguson’s seasoned team appeared to be able to fend off new-look City’s charge; however, a late-season slump, which included a 1-0 loss at the Etihad, gave Roberto Mancini’s team the upper hand once more.

The Italian team’s task on the last day was to defeat QPR to win the title, but they were behind 2-1 in stoppage time in the second half. Meanwhile, United won 1-0 at Sunderland to earn another trophy.

However, Edin Dzeko and Sergio Aguero gave City a stunning double late on, igniting celebrations in East Manchester as well as shock at the Stadium of Light.

3. 2013-14

The Liverpool team’s unsuccessful title challenge in 2013–14, which included Steven Gerrard’s slip against Chelsea and their three-goal collapse at Crystal Palace, is likely what fans will remember most about the season.

But while it eventually became a two-horse race with City, it is often forgotten that Arsenal spent the majority of the campaign in the top spot, with Jose Mourinho’s Blues also in the mix.

Brendan Rodgers’ Reds, spurred on by Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge, had a nine-point advantage over City at a late stage, but that dramatic turn of events handed the Citizens their second title.

4. 2015-16

The 2015-16 title race was a classic, not for its tense battle between powerhouses but more for the surprise team that defied all the odds.

With Claudio Ranieri at the helm, Leicester secured the most unlikely Premier League title in just their second season following their promotion from the Championship.

The drama also surrounded the Foxes’ title-winning victory, as Chelsea held off Spurs in a fierce match at Stamford Bridge after trailing 2-0, giving the East Midlanders the victory.

5. 2018-19

2018–19 was a thrilling battle between two of the best teams the Premier League has ever seen. Pep Guardiola’s City finished with an incredible 98 points, ahead of Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool with 97.

After a 2-1 loss at the Etihad in January, in which City defender John Stones cleared the ball off the line by just 11 millimetres, the Reds must have puzzled how they did not win the title with such a score.

With a 4-1 victory over Brighton on the last day, Guardiola’s team eventually won the title, ensuring that despite their incredible efforts, the Merseysiders’ wait for a Premier League victory remained.


Follow Lagos Post Online Channel on WhatsApp:

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker